Buddhist Organisations

This page contains a variety of links to Buddhist organisations, many of whom have been members of the NBO at one time or another. For our latest membership list please contact the membership secretary.

Disclaimer: The NBO does not endorse the teachings or practices of any Buddhist organisations included on this list and takes no responsibility for the content of any site linked to from this page.

For those non-Buddhists who visit this site seeking information about Buddhism, we would remind you that there are many diverse traditions & schools of Buddhism. Interpretations of teachings may differ from school to school, so care should be taken in drawing any conclusion as to the generality of any specific interpretation. You should also know that there are growing numbers of secular groups that teach mindfulness.

In case you prefer photos to text, here’s some images of Buddhist Centres around the UK – more contributions are welcome! Email us and we’ll send you the details to add your own.

Organisation Website
Amaravati Lay Buddhist Association (ALBA) www.buddhacommunity.org/~
The Amida Trust www.amidatrust.com/~
Awakened Heart Sangha www.ahs.org.uk/~
Birmingham Buddhist Vihara www.birminghambuddhistvihara.org/~
Buddha’s Light International ibps.org.uk/~
Buddhist Healthcare Chaplaincy Group
Buddhist Hospice Trust www.buddhisthospice.org.uk/~
Buddhavihara Temple, Kings Bromley www.watthaiuk.com/~
The Clear Vision Trust www.clear-vision.org/~
Dechen www.dechen.org/~
Diamond Way www.buddhism.org.uk/~
Gaia House www.gaiahouse.co.uk/~
Jamyang Leeds www.jamyangleeds.co.uk/~
Jamyang London www.jamyang.co.uk/~
Buddhist Group of Kendal www.communigate.co.uk/~
Lam Rim Buddhist Centres www.lamrim.org.uk/~
Leeds Buddhist Council leedsbuddhistcouncil [at] hotmail [dot] com
London Buddhist Vihara www.londonbuddhistvihara.org/~
Longchen Foundation www.longchenfoundation.org/~
Lumbini Nepalese Buddha Dharma Society (UK) www.lumbini.org.uk/~
Manchester Buddhist Convention www.manchesterbuddhistconvention.org.uk/~
Network of Engaged Buddhists www.engagedbuddhists.org.uk/~
Order of Buddhist Contemplatives www.obcon.org/~ and www.throssel.org.uk/~
Pure Land Buddhist Fellowship www.purelandnotes.com/~
Samye Ling Tibetan Centre www.holyisland.org/~
Rissho Kosei-kai of the UK www.rk-world.org/~
Soka Gakkai International – UK www.sgi-uk.org/~
The Triple Gem Buddhist Foundation www.triplegem.com/~
Triratna Buddhist Community thebuddhistcentre.com/~
Western Ch’an Fellowship www.WesternChanFellowship.org/~

Buddhist Information Sources

The following sites have proved to be useful sources of information about Buddhism.  Note that they are not in any particular order.

Website Information
His Holiness the Dalai Lama Official Website
Buddhist Society The London based Society founded by Christmas Humphries
BuddhaSasana An excellent source of Theravada on-line books & articles
Amaravati Buddhist Monastery Forest Sangha teachings and Theravada writing etc
Leaves from the Buddha’s Grove Another excellent source of Theravada writing etc
The Life Of The Buddha Does exactly what it says in the title!
BuddhaNet A Buddhist Information and Education Network
New Kadampa Tradition New Kadampa Tradition
A Handful of Leaves A multitude of Dhamma readings and much more
Not Two Original artwork related to Theravada Buddhism
Buddha Mind Buddhism with a smile – and much more.
Buddhist Therapists Database Search for a Buddhist counsellor or psychotherapist
The Barn Retreat Centre Buddhist meditation retreat centre in the Devon countryside
BuddhaBell Time your meditation session
www.bhpromo.org/~ Buddhist Heritage in India
IOP-UK The Institute of Oriental Philosophy
www.sutrasmantras.info/~ Buddha Sutras & Mantras
www.ammituofo.com/~ More Sutras
Positive News On-line newspaper. Exactly what it says it is
Journal of Global Buddhism An on-line academic journal that functions as a traditional scholarly journal.
The Buddhist Channel A Buddhist on-line ‘Newspaper’
I am Awakening Many resources with spirituality information
Buddha Chat A Buddhism Discussion Forum
Museum of World Religions An excellent virtual museum project
The International Dunhuang Project information and images from Dunhuang and other Silk Road sites
The Interfaith Network Building relations between all the major faiths.
Dharma the Cat The coolest site on the web! A must for Buddhist cat lovers
The Lighter Side of Buddhism We should never lose sight of our sense of humour
Dharma Games If you have kids (or are one yourself!), send them here
Buddhist Search Engine Run by the Western Chan Fellowship, this search engine operates in the usual way, but specifically searches a list of (currently 100) Buddhist websites for your key words.
If you know of a site that you thinks merits including in the search engine list, please send the URL of the site to searching [at] westernchanfellowship [dot] org

Login